Self Portrait Destroyed!

 

Today, I was tasked to create a self portrait and then destroy it; destroy meaning to make it it different and abstract to show meaning or an emotion.

After creating my self portrait (which was done very easily due to an image of a self portrait that I had done a couple of years ago), I had added a paper spring on top of my portrait’s nose so that I could stick another nose on top. My aim from doing that was to tell the viewer that I was ridiculed for having a big nose, not to say that I lie a lot, like Pinocchio.

Later on, I have added some lips/mouth falling down from my face to my portrait so that the viewer would understand that I am unsociable, so that my mouth is not needed; I change the colours as it was alive (personification). Green: representing that the lips is stable. Red: the lip’s status are failing. Grey: they have passed away.

All in all, I found that my outcome is fantastic, it’s funny, colourful, and has  strange imagery to it!

If I had done it again or improved it, I would of perhaps added a background or at least a frame. Still following Graham Sutherland’s footsteps, I aim to add as much detail as possible, and destroy in as many ways as possible, plus, making it funny just like Alan Fletcher did.

*The extra eyebrows on the forehead are not supposed to be there!

ptdc0223

Wait a minute! I had more ideas that I could experiment with. After creating my first destroyed self portrait, I had a go at a second one. I had already had an idea to what I should do. I chose to cut some pieces of my face so that a second layer (which is checked) to come through.

ptdc0227

I then decided that it was too plain, so I produced a collage with pieces of green paper. I chose dark green for my face, light green for my face features *nose, ears etc. And finally, using textured green for my hair, strips to add a funny effect.

ptdc0228

ptdc0229

I finally had my three stages done, as you can see below:

ptdc0230

I am really happy of what I have came out with the third outcome really makes me laugh! It has all the right things: the textured hair, the dazzling eyes, and the discoloured  ears and nose. I definitely feel like I could have not made it any better, only that I could have added a frame like I mentioned earlier.

Leave a comment