Self Portraits Transformed

Today, I have created mindmaps which contain positive and negative feelings which can then be used to transform a self-portrait into how you feel.

After plotting all of my ideas on my positive and negative feelings about myself in the mindmaps, I had then used it to create a transformed piece of myself. Taking a picture of myself, I had then imported it into Adobe Photoshop.

Deciding to turn into a point of symbolism, I had thought of creating a self portrait which showed that I was an; outcast, an alien, so I had liquified my face to look odd as to how I feel. Then adding the colour green to my face as I feel like an Alien in this world.

Eventually, changing the colour of the background as if the world looks strange to the eyes of the viewer as it does to me.

transformed.png

I have followed Graham Sutherland’s steps as I was very fond of his work, especially his “Winston Churchill’s” work. He has taken many portraits and probably self portraits, and then transformed them so the they look quite weird, but has a meaning towards it.I really enjoy this art form as it reminds me of Alan Fletcher’s work and how he takes images and changes it to make it look or say something in a funny way.

I am very sorry, but I am unable to get the image of Graham Sutherland’s “Winston Churchill,” but if you click the link below, you will be able to find it there.

Harvard Reference: Winston Churchill Destroyed,Date Viewed: 21/11/16,Date Written: 0/02/13 6:01pm  io9 – Gizmodo, via Dangerous Minds, http://io9.gizmodo.com/artistic-masterpieces-that-have-been-stolen-destroyed-1440069572

 

Leave a comment